Change of Plans

The park was one of the first places I went, when I moved to El Salvador.

Change is something I’ve never enjoyed. I like things simple. Familiar. Growing up, I never had dreams of leaving my hometown, never hoped to go away to college, never wanted a change. When I found out my husband was going to be deported I knew it would bring big changes for me. Changes I was afraid to face. The thought of leaving my family, friends, and church family was heartbreaking, and the thought of moving to a country so different from my own, with a different language, was terrifying! Sitting in the airport waiting for my one-way flight to El Salvador I thought about my future, and what life would be like for me. I knew it was the start of the changes. When I boarded that plane I took with me two suitcase and one promise, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jer.29:11 During the past four years those words have played over and over in my mind. They have carried me through some hard times, and been encouraging in good times. I was scared to face a change in MY plans, but knowing that God had it planned all along, has helped me find there can be joy in change!

8 thoughts on “Change of Plans

  1. When I watched you walk away to the security line at the airport that first time, my heart was breaking! MY plans were being changed too! I was so scared for what was ahead for you both as you make a home in El Salvador. You once said to me that it was much easier to be there when you could see a reason why you were there. I guess God is continuing to give you reasons for sending you there and make His plan clear to you. I have no doubt that God has a plan to use you in El Salvador for His purpose. No parent could be happier than to see their child….BLOOM WHERE YOU ARE PLANTED!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

