Fish Bellies and Poor Speakers

Remember the story of Jonah? As a kid, I can remember thinking, “silly Jonah, don’t you know God sees everything”? The older I got, though, I started to understand “silly Jonah” a little more. Sure he should have known God would “find” him anywhere, but why did he try to hide in the first place? He didn’t want to do what God was asking him to, and wanted to find a way out. Even if we have never tried to run from God, can we honestly say we have never thought about running away from what God has called us to do? I’ll be honest, there have been times in my life, that like Jonah, I have thought, “Lord, I really don’t want to do this!” It’s not alway easy to accept what God has planned for our lives. Especially when it’s different from what we want for our lives! Even Moses pleaded with God, “O Lord, please send someone else to do it”. (Exodus 4:13) I think that sometimes what God asks of us seems so overwhelming to us, because we are looking at our own strength to carry it out, instead of remembering that God will carry us, as we carry out His will. It’s very easy to think of reasons why we can’t do what God is asking. I’m guilty of saying things like, “Lord, my spanish is not so good, I’m sure you could find someone else who’d be better” but then I read the words He responded to Moses in Exodus 4:12, “I will help you speak and will teach you what to say,” and I realize that I am not alone in this, God is constantly guiding me and helping me, every step of the way!

There is an old newsboys song that says:

When You called my name,
I didn’t know how far the calling went,
When You called my name,
I didn’t know what that word really meant,
When I recall Your call,
I feel
so small,
Lord, what did you see
when you called out for me?

It's hard to follow where God is leading when we can't see the end of the road, but we can trust that those He calls He will also equip.

Even when we don’t think we can do what God is asking, or that someone else can do it better, God had a reason for calling each person, to do each job. We may not see why He called us, or choose us to do His will, but we know His will is perfect, and can be sure that He has not made a mistake. Next time instead of trying to hide like Jonah, I hope I will be honored that God is using me and sees something in myself that I don’t!

2 thoughts on “Fish Bellies and Poor Speakers

  1. That’s an amazing sentiment. I think faith is something very hard to achieve, and to believe that God has a plan for all of us can be difficult so we need to learn to pray, learn, trust and take action . By serving others, and being the best we can possibly be, we then lay things in His hands and believe that there is always a plan 🙂

Leave a Reply

