Mary Knew How It Felt

The other day I was listening to some Christmas songs and “Mary did you know?” came on. With words like:

“Mary did you know that your baby boy would save our sons and daughters?
Did you know that your baby boy has come to make you new?
This child that you’ve delivered, will soon deliver you.”

It’s a song that makes me think. Sometimes I wonder what Mary must have felt. On the one hand, great honor to be the mother of the Messiah, and on the other hand, a mother who know’s her son will be a sacrifice for the sins of the world. I wonder if there were ever times that Mary rocked her baby to sleep, and thought, “does it really have to be my son who will die?” I wonder if she ever watched him play and started crying just thinking about what that day would be like. Sure, she knew from the beginning that her baby boy was unlike any other, but she was human, after all. There must have been times when she thought, “Lord, why have you chosen me? I am not strong enough for the task you have given to me!”

Thinking about what God called Mary to do, makes anything He asks of me look pretty easy. Yet sometimes I still have a hard time doing it, or not complaining about it. As a parent I cannot even imagine what it would be like to know that every day, I am one day closer to the day my child will be killed.

When I first heard the news about the shooting in Conneticut last week, like most people, I cried. Although school shootings are sadly, nothing new, hearing about 6 and 7 year olds being killed is something that still shocks and scares us. For some reason, all I can think about is these families on Christmas, looking at a pile of presents that will never be opened by the child they were bought for. It breaks me heart. I wonder what these parents would have done differently that morning (other than not send their kids to school that day) if they had known it was the last day they would see their kids. Suddenly the breakfast dishes left on the table wouldn’t be a big deal. They would have remembered to say, “I love you” or given an extra hug even if it meant being a few minutes late.

I hope I never have to experience the pain and heartbreak of losing a child. Just thinking about it makes me cry. There are days that I know yell too much, or get upset about little things, but they all seem pretty unimportant when something like this happens. I love my boys, and they mean everything to me. I am so thankful that I have the opportunity to show them that today.

The loss of a child is a terrible thing at any age. What happened last week was a horrible tragedy, but as the nation mourns the loss of these “innocent” lives, let us also remember Mary’s son who was killed many years ago. He truly was innocent, yet He died a horrible death so that we might have a new life in Him. This Christmas as we celebrate Jesus’ birth, let us also thank Him for his death, because without it, we would have nothing to celebrate.

2 thoughts on “Mary Knew How It Felt

Leave a Reply

