The One

About a month ago, I spent some time putting together a slide show of the work we have done over the past year. I had narrowed it down to a few dozen pictures, but I couldn’t figure out what song I wanted to use for the background music. I knew I needed something that would be a good match for the pictures, but couldn’t find anything I really liked. After looking at a bunch of music online, I came across the song, “The One” by Brandon Heath, and it seemed to be perfect!

I loved this song because it was a great reminder that just one person reaching out to those in need, can make a big difference in the lives of the people they help . I also thought the song was good because it urges the listener to ask themselves, “What if I’m the one?” It’s really easy for us to sit back and assume that other people will do something, or help someone, but how often do we actually stop, and ask God, “Am I the one who can make that change, or help that person in need?”

I couldn’t upload the slide show here, but I wanted to share the song lyrics, and a handful of the pictures I used. In the future I hope I can upload the slide show somewhere online, but right now between my slow computer, and my even slower internet, I haven’t been able to get it to work!

“The One”
If I see one more light that’s fading
Hear about one more broken dream
Pray for just one more faith that’s dying
It’s one too many

101_1482And if I see one more child walking
Just one more mile for water
If I wait one more minute longer
It’s one too many

IMG_3158When I think of what could be
If we let our hearts believe
That it takes just one
Just one could turn this all around

IMG_3933And if we’re living history
How will they think of you and me
If it takes just one, just one
What if, what if, what if I’m the one?

IMG_3934It takes one, takes one, one
It takes one, takes one, one
It takes one, takes one
IMG_1536If I hear one more widow crying
‘Cause there’s no one by her side
And if I see one more family breaking
It’s one too many

556439_4125059378317_276449848_n[1]If there’s one thing that I’m sure of
If there’s one thing that I know
You could be one in a sea of faces
Or you could be one more chance for hope

IMG_3115When I think of what could be
If we let our hearts believe
That it takes just one
Just one could turn this all around
DSCF9262And if we’re living history
How will they think of you and me
If it takes just one, just one
What if, what if, what if I’m the one?

IMG_3693I see a nation without any walls
A beautiful haven for one and for all
I see a day when people are free
When shackles are broken and fall to the street

DSCF7361

A voice, a cry, call out from on high
The first one of many, go lay down your life

IMG_1501

When I think of what could be
If we let our hearts believe
That it takes just one
Just one could turn this all around

IMG_3114And if we’re living history
How will they think of you and me
If it takes just one, just one
What if, what if, what if I’m the one?

46027_474101222634757_863419748_n[1]

