Greater Things Are Still To Be Done In This City

There is something about hearing a hymn or worship song that I know in English, being sung in Spanish that gets me every time. If you have never been in a church service that was in a different language, it’s a feeling that is hard to explain, but each time it hits me like a ton of bricks, that there are Christians, all over the world! Sometimes on sunday mornings I can’t help thinking about my church in the U.S.singing in English, the same song we are singing here in Spanish, and churches meeting underground praising God with the same song in their languages. It’s really neat to think about, and it’s a sure way to make you feel really small. For me it’s a reminder that I am one of millions of Christians in this world, but some how God still cares for me, and knows my name, and loves me! It’s an amazing thing to think about!

388033_364353843632753_534241227_n[1]

Last sunday, I had that moment while we were singing, “God of this City”:

“Grandes cosas vienen ya,
Grandes cosas Dios hará en este pueblo”

It seemed to be a really fitting song, because in the days before, I had just finished planning a bunch of things, and finalizing 2 of our 3 mission trips that will be taking place this summer. There are so many exciting things that we will be blessed to be a part of over this summer, and we are confident that:

“Greater things have yet to come, and greater things are still to be done in this city”

We are looking forward to seeing what God has planned for us, and what doors He will open for us this summer!

 

7 thoughts on “Greater Things Are Still To Be Done In This City

  1. I love it when you write!!!!!! As always, you leave me thinking of and reminding me of God’s great love!

  2. I know that feeling! When we were at your church and they were singing “When the Role is called up Yonder” I was singing away in english with everyone singing in Spanish! I was thinking nearly the same thing….we are from diff countries, speak diff languages, but serve and worship the same God!

  3. I’ve played the song on keyboard on the praise team. I’m a language nut, linguistics major and classics (latin, greek) minor out of U Penn. Like your reflection on the heavenly multilingual praise.

Leave a Reply

